Must Win, Part II.

I must admit, I was wrong in my last post. I went 1-3, missing both Game 3 of the NBA Finals and Hillary vs. Bernie in California.

Hillary vs. Bernie in CA

I clearly underestimated Hillary’s ability to “close.” Hillary needed a big day on Tuesday, and she got it! This was about the same time her campaign fell apart in 2008, and part of me was expecting the same thing in 2016. Bernie had seemed to be gaining momentum, and CA and Bernie seem to align on several issues. However, when it mattered most, Hillary got it done. Well done, Hillary.

It’ll be interesting to see who wins in November, as both candidates are clear winners (in the sense that they win, not that I endorse either one). Traditionally wisdom must have Hillary as the favorite, but since when has Trump followed traditional anything on his rise to the top of the GOP? Too hard to predict.

Cleveland vs. Golden State, Game 3

Again, I underestimated Lebron’s ability to win a “must-win” game with his back against the wall. Instead, Cleveland won by 30. I’m impressed, they showed up!

Not surprisingly, Golden State came back to win Game 4, after being down 8 in the second half. They now head back to Oakland for Game 5 up 3-1 and have the chance to close it out. Do I even need to predict who I think will win Game 5 tonight? Let’s just say there will be plenty of celebrations in the Bay Area tonight.

Brian’s Correct Pick, USA vs. Costa Rica

I’ll save my gloating for last. I called a “big win” for USA over Costa Rica, in a must-win game for the States. I called for 2-0, but instead, USA romped Costa Rica 4-0. The US went on to beat Paraguay 1-0 on Saturday, and after Columbia’s loss to that same Costa Rica squad, USA won the group! We now play Ecuador in the QF on Thursday. My “soccer brain” doesn’t know enough about the Ecuadorian side to make a logical pick, but my “soccer heart” would love to see the US advance. Can we all agree that Brooks is the best defender the US has had…maybe ever? He’s playing with intention right now, and it’s fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

